The Oak

Alternate Title

  • None1

Composition Year

  • 1943


  • 3+pic.2+ca.2+bcl.2 - - timp.4perc - hp - strings


  • 13 min.


Premiere Performance

  • Unknown

Published Editions

  • The Oak. New York, NY: G. Schirmer, Inc., 2019.


  • Florence Price: The Oak, Mississippi River Suite, Symphony No. 3. Apo Hsu, conductor; The Women’s Philharmonic. Koch International Classics 3-7518-2 2111, 2007.
  • Price: Songs of the Oak - Concert Overtures Nos. 1–2. Württembergische Philharmonie Reutlingen; John Jeter, conductor. Naxos 8.559920, 2022.

Thematic Incipits


  1. Brown, Rae Linda. The Heart of a Woman: The Life and Music of Florence B. Price. Music in American Life. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 2020.


  1. Some commentators have erroneously remarked that The Oak is the same piece as Songs of the Oak. They are two distinct pieces. 

  2. This document is the same file available at IMSLP