Suite of Negro Dances

Alternate Title

Composition Year

  • 1952–53? (orig. ca. 1933)


  • - - timp.4perc - strings
  • Band arr.: 2+pic.2+ca.3+Ebcl+bcl.2+cbn.2asx.tsx.barsx - 4.3.2+btbn.1.euph - timp.5perc - db


  • 3-4 min.


Premiere Performance

  • Excerpts: February 18, 1953; Chicago, IL; Members of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra; George Schick, conductor.
  • Band arr.: December 16, 2021; McCormick Place West, Chicago; Marie-Perle Broadley, conductor; U.S. Army Field Band.

Published Editions


  • Two Little Negro Dances. Chicago Symphony Orchestra; George Schick, cond. WGN-TV, 1953.1 (“Rabbit Foot” and “Ticklin’ Toes” only)
  • Price: Songs of the Oak - Concert Overtures Nos. 1–2. Württembergische Philharmonie Reutlingen; John Jeter, conductor. Naxos 8.559920, 2022.

Thematic Incipits

  • In Progress


  1. Brown, Rae Linda. The Heart of a Woman: The Life and Music of Florence B. Price. Music in American Life. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 2020.

  1. The Florence Beatrice Smith Price Papers Addendum (MC988a) holds a 7’’ reel-to-reel tape of the WGN performance in Box 4 (reel 2).